Croeso Network

The Parish of Ruabon

RuabonThe ancient parish of Ruabon included the townships of Belan, Bodylltyn, Cristionydd Cynrig (or Y Dref Fawr), Coed Cristionydd, Cristionydd Fechan (or Y Dref Fechan, or Dynhinlle Uchaf), Dinhinlle Isaf, Hafod (or Hafod y Gallor), Moreton Anglicorum (or Moreton Above), Moreton Wallichorum (or Moreton Below) (where Above and Below refer to Offa's Dyke), Rhuddallt, and Tref Robert Llwyd.

"A parish in the Union of Wrexham, hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh; 5 miles (SW by S) from Wrexham; containing, in 1841, 11292 inhabitants. .....
The parish is situated in a picturesque part of the county, within three miles of the great Holyhead road, and is bounded on the south by the river Dee. The village ..... seems to have been indebted for its original prosperity to the noble mansion of Wynnstay, in the immediate vicinity, and to owe its present importance chiefly to the mines of ironstone and coal which abound, especially in the southern and western parts of the parish. ..... The parish comprises an important part of the Denbighshire coal tract, of which the principal seam is here nine feet thick; and its mineral wealth in coal and iron ore, particularly in the southern and western parts of it, has caused the establishment of numerous works. The whole give employment to from 1400 to 1500 men and boys. ..... Offa's Dyke and Wat's Dyke both intersect the parish, and in their courses approach within a quarter of a mile of each other, near the village, but diverge as they are traced either northward or southward, so as shortly to leave an interval of several miles."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]


Click on the town name below to visit other areas of Wales or Here for Map
Aberaeron Aberdovey Abergavenny Aberystwyth Amlwch Bala Barmouth
Beaumaris Beddgelert Betws-y-Coed Brecon Builth Wells Caernarfon Caldey Island
Cardiff Cardigan Carmarthen Welcome to Wales - Croeso i Gymru Chepstow Chirk Colwyn Bay
Conwy Crickhowell Denbigh Fishguard Flintshire Harlech
Haverfordwest Holyhead Llanberis Llandrindod Llandudno Llangollen
Machynlleth Newport Newtown Porthcawl Porthmadog Pwllheli Rhayader
Rhyl Ruabon Ruthin Saundersfoot St Asaph St Davids Swansea
Tenby Welshpool Wrexham Photos Old Photos Chester Oswestry